Home Videos Games Podcastle

Twilight Imperium at SHUX'18?

I know that the convention is a ways off yet, but…

I’m still sort of a noob to boardgaming. I’ve thrown myself headlong into the hobby over the last half-year or so, and SH&SD has really helped me along the way. That’s why I was super excited to discover the existence of the SHUX convention in my backyard of the Pacific Northwest (if one’s “backyard” can sensibly contain an 8-hour drive)! So I’m ditching the wife and kid and taking my lone self deep into a world I still don’t know very well, along with all of my social anxieties, insecurities, and etc. :slight_smile:

One game that’s been brought up here a bit is Twilight Imperium, but because I’m still new to the hobby and have not yet developed a core gaming group – and due to the expense of the game and the time required to play it – I’ve neither played TI nor see any prospects for playing it in the near future, or maybe ever. And so, I was hoping that maybe I could find some kindly folks at SHUX who would be interested in playing such a game, and teaching a new player like myself along the way…?

All you would need to do is bring a copy of the game. And organize a group. And resolve yourself to the lengthy playing time. And commit to teaching someone. And that’s it! Sounds easy peasy. In return, I will happily provide an unending series of annoying questions and mildly amusing tabletop banter.*

So, what say you my fellow conventioneers?

(*Banter not guaranteed to amuse, even mildly)

3 Likes

I am totally up for a game of TI:4. We have a semi informal group down here that gets together a couple months a year for that game. I adore it. I routinely teach it and I’m all for playing a game with you.

I may steal this for my twitter profile.

Good luck. I played my first game of TI4 recently and enjoyed it.

I’d be up for playing!