Home Videos Games Podcastle

The West Marches - RPG that is always open to new players. Even if you want to play solo!

What is the West Marches?

The West Marches is a player driven roleplaying setting. It’s an open world experience where every person decides what their character does. You pick what plot thread you want to follow and get other players to join you on your adventure. For PBF it’s really good, because any person can create a character at any point and walk them straight into a world that’s constantly being expanded.

I’m going to use the pathfinder system for this, and everyone wanting to create a level one character can do so. If anyone is interested in the game but is a complete novice I’ve got some pregenerated characters ready to go.

Here’s Matt Colville explaining the concept

And the original author explaining the setting.

http://arsludi.lamemage.com/index.php/78/grand-experiments-west-marches/

Or alternatively, here’s the start of the adventure itself…

*Pathfinder is here http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/
*Character sheet is here http://charactersheet.co.uk/pathfinder/#/login
*Roll your own dice or points buy for character creation.
*All players start at level one.

Roster of characters.

@Sleepywill Cristian – Jinnie
@Scribbs - Kyla
@Sagantine - Ssora - Kaiza
@Abubu Nyoll -Cal
@Gambauge - Borgar
@HrafnkelRedBeard - Arthur
@necro-1000 - Ezran
@decitrig - Taliesin

Roleplay 101...help?
Roleplay 101...help?

On the edge of the Kingdom of Serk sat the great goblin marsh. As the Kingdom grew and prospered the world became calmer, more ordered. Although bandits and thieves still exist, the great heroes are all dead or long retired, for there is no more adventure to be found. The last great frontier, known only as the West Marches was beyond reach.

That is, until now.

At great personal expense, the Lord Leas has driven a roadway through the marshlands, the foundations are deep, and its surface is furnished with flagstones of polished granite.