Home Videos Games Podcastle

The Terrific Travel Thread

Outside of board games, one of my biggest (though admittedly quite infrequent) hobbies is traveling. I try to get out of the country at least once a year, even if I often cheat by going to the UK which is close by and relatively cheap to get to.

Anyway, I love hearing about other people’s travels too, so I figured I’d start a thread where we can share experiences and suggestions when it comes to everything from travel destinations, local cuisine, and what gear to use when traveling.

To kick things off, I’ll start with this question:

What is your dream travel destination, and why?

1 Like

I guess I’ll go first, too!

So, my dream travel destination is actually one I’ve already been to - Japan. I was in Tokyo back in 2012, and it is probably the greatest trip I’ve ever been on. I fell in love with the city and country, and I’m aching to go back. So much so that I’m currently studying Japanese with the goal of being fluent enough in it one day to be able to travel the the more remote parts of the country, where people generally do not speak English as much or as well as they do in Tokyo (and even there, English is far from common).

2 Likes

Mine too. My wife and I have been twice, and absolutely love the place. We’ve had to be sensible and buy a house rather than go again, but we will go back again, that’s for sure.

I’d love to visit every island. A winter holiday in Hokkaido and a tropical one amongst the islands south of Kyushu are my dream trips of the future…

Speaking of learning, Duolingo have recently added Japanese to their app. I’ve found that my initial attempts to learn hiragana through books etc. have made learning through Duolingo pretty good, but I don’t think it’s great for someone with no previous knowledge of the Japanese alphabet(s).