Home Videos Games Podcastle

Roll Player PBF #1

I’ll run a game of Roll Player, for up to four players. (I don’t mind whether or not I play myself.) I’ll do this with screenshots from Tabletop Simulator, which means all I have to do is set up some standard camera positions.

It’s all @MinuteWalt’s fault.

Edit: rulebook is here

2 Likes

It is my fault.

Dammit, @RogerBW! This was not my intention, but I suppose I don’t really have a choice now. I need to pay for my sins. I’m in.

(FYI, I don’t totally understand how this game works, like all new games I get involved in. I’ll need some gentle hand-holding in the beginning).

1 Like

I was surprised to see people describing it as hard to pick up - granted, I’ve been soaking in TTRPGs for nearly forty years so the terminology isn’t weird to me.

I’ve linked the rulebook above, but to hypersummarise (also to get it clear in my mind because I’ve only played twice):

You are aiming to maximise your score, which is shown as stars.
You get a Class card (choice of two sides), which gives you goal values for the stats. Too high is just as bad as too low. That also defines your favoured colour for Reputation - each die of that colour is worth a star, and armour of that colour will give you a bonus star.
You get a Backstory card, which gives you a set of colours and spaces. The more dice on the final layout match that, the more stars you get.
You get an Alignment card, which shows where you want to end up on that grid.
You get some money. 5+max(playernumber-2, 0) gold.
You get some starting dice, which you place immediately.

In a round:
There are initiative cards equal to players+1; ones that aren’t first or last have one gold on them. First player draws that many dice, rolls them and allocates one per card. Then from the start player clockwise each player takes an initiative card (and its die, and any gold on it). That defines play order when needed.