Home Videos Games Podcastle

Questions about SHUX

I’m contemplating coming to SHUX, but I have questions. First off, there is apparently a limited number of tickets, but when will they run out? (How quickly do I have to decide and convince friends to come?)

My next question or set of questions is more general. I have never been to a gaming convention so I don’t know what to expect. I was surprised by the price. I would expect that for a chance to essentially go to a very large temporary game store and play some games with strangers $20 or so would be a reasonable price. But I guess there is more to it than that.

There are events and panels? What would the panels be about? Talking to a game designer or something? I am a game designer myself and I can’t imagine that being very interesting.

There are seminars? About game design and marketing? About other things? Where is the schedule that shows all the things that will be happening?

I guess there are special games and versions of games that you can’t normally play elsewhere…

I suppose there will be lots of publishers. Will it be mostly salespeople/representatives or would it be a good place to show my games to potential publishers? If so, what is the appropriate way to do it?

I understand there will be a large general gaming area where anybody can play any games that they bring. A main goal if I do come would be just to show my two playable games to strangers, especially my newer one. Additionally it would be nice to try out other games.

I don’t own a lot of games myself but I live in a community where I can regularly play lots of games with other people, which they own, such as Agricola, Caverna, Clans of Caledonia, Terra Mystica, Gaia Project, Terraforming Mars, Root, Scythe, Anachrony, Dominant Species, and on and on. But it is still fun to check out new games.