Home Videos Games Podcastle

Question On Trying New Games

Hello,

This is my first time going to Shux, and I’m overwhelming excited to go. I’m looking forward to meeting cool folks and playing cool games with them, which leads me to my question: Are people expected to know the rules of games they’re playing, or are there groups of people trying games that are new to them common?

I figured Shux would be a great opportunity to try out various games that peaked my interest, but I haven’t had the chance to play. However, I don’t want to cause a fuss by trying to start or join a game and being all like “oh by the way, I don’t know how to do what it is we’re all doing.”

6 Likes

Hello and welcome to the forum and SHUX! Quite a lot of people come to SHUX to play games they’ve never played before, making use of the extensive game library, so it will be quite common for groups to teach games to new players. In fact, attendees are encouraged, if they pass by a group struggling with rules of a game they know, to ask if they want help.

3 Likes

When it comes to joining a game, most folks are very welcoming to all, experienced or not. I taught Inis to two new players last year.

The year before my wife and I taught 7 Wonders to three new people. That same year we played Shogun, which three of the players needed to learn, I taught three or four new players Fury of Dracula, and someone else taught five new players how to play Cosmic Encounter. Four of us learned Inis from the owner of the game who saw us working out the rules late on a Saturday night.

Not to mention games that you just pick out of the library at random and have to learn right then and there.

What I am trying to say in way more words than are necessary is you will have no shortage of people willing to teach you any number of games at SHUX. Have fun!

1 Like