Home Videos Games Podcastle

DND 5E. Gritty and Brutal

Short rests take about an hour, long rests about 8. Thats fine, makes for a fun light-hearted adventure. But do you long for a grittier game. Do you want to suffer and fear for your life at every bump in the night? Then do i have good news for you! Introducing a rule hidden away in the DMG that makes short rests 8 hours, and long rests take a week. Not only that but I, your GM, will be throwing difficult and dangerous encounters and puzzles at you with nary a second to catch your breath. If this is the game you have been longing for then look no further. Sign up here!

Cheesy stuff aside, i came across this rule while reading through my DMG and it sounds pretty rad so i wanna give it a shot. Im not very good at worldbuilding unfortunately as a DM so i might not be the best person for this job and ill gladly step aside if someone wants to take over as the GM but i thought id bring some attention to this at least.

That sounds fun! I cannot join (I have other duties here, and am a DM and have other stuff IRL), but I have bookmarked it so I can spectate from the sidelines, I do this for a lot of other forum games.

It sounds brutally entertaining!

Awww how unfortunate. If your time frees up down the road i could totally fit you in. Maybe spread the word a bit for me if you wouldnt mind? The other game i tried to start didnt take off

@SleepyWill has been really prolific with forum RPGs, he might be able to help. He knows this place and the people pretty well.

Also @Scribbs, @RossM, @UllinBethalto, @Sagantine, @clg6000, @twispby, @Abubu,

(oh, hell, I can’t possibly finish this list, there would be dozens of more people, including @system. There are only so many hours in the day. Hopefully some of these will get a notification since I "@"ed them, and if they can’t play, will direct you to some who can.