Home Videos Games Podcastle

Ask a Chef!

This is the first forum I think I have ever wanted to actively participate in. I am passionate about my board game hobby, enjoying classics like Catan, or newer(ish) games such as Terraforming Mars, Pandemic, Power Grid, Tokaido… etc…

I am also a professional chef and have been cooking in Canada as a career for seven years now. I own and operate a restaurant in rural Ontario with my Wife and Mother-in-Law.

I saw this corner of the forum and thought I could offer any knowledge I have accrued to fellow boardgamers who have questions about cooking! Ask away if anyone is interested :slight_smile:

I don’t have any questions right now, but I approve of this post!

Oooh, how nice. I used to work as a cooking instructor, but I will most definitely refer to you in the future. :grinning:

I’ve got one - Bacon is the bane of my life! I love it, but I really enjoy it crispy. To get it to crisp up, I have to turn the heat right up, it doesn’t seem to go crispy at lower temperatures. I fry it. The problem is, at high temperatures, the oil spits, and not to get into it too much, I struggle to clean up the results - it’s a disability thing. Is there a way to crisp up bacon without high temperature frying? I’ve tried frying in butter, grilling, even microwaving in a special container. Nothing works, at least while retaining the taste.

Oh, and I have a second one, perhaps related - air fryers, are they any good, what do you have to take into consideration vs a deep fat fryer?

Thanks so much!

That’s wicked! Truthfully I really enjoy teaching, and if I lived in a different place I would want to pursue teaching cooking as a profession. Nice to have a colleague on here.